Korean Skincare 10-Step System

I got interested in trying the 10-step system after having come across a few YouTube videos on it and having tried oil cleansing with Japanese brand Tatcha’s incredible One-Step Camellia Cleansing Oil. Using this product pushed me into double cleansing by default so taking on the other steps seemed like a no-brainer.

…the basic premise of this system is using layers of moisture to properly hydrate the skin

After watching what seemed like a million videos on women’s daytime and nighttime routines, seeing what products and brands they tended to use the most, plus some additional research via Charlotte Cho’s book, “The Little Book of skincare,” sokoglam.com, glowrecipe.com, but mostly via Gothamista’s YouTube channel I learned a lot about what makes Korean skincare work in terms of ingredients and what you should look for in terms of results, plus the appropriate application methods.

I’d always been a fan of using natural skincare ingredients and some of the top rated Korean products come packed with skin loving oils, fermented ingredients and humectants. Before I started this journey I had no idea fermented ingredients were even a thing or why they were a thing in the first place.

pbs-10step-2

Using the 10-step system is a fun and educational journey, after a while when you turn the bottles to read the ingredients in the back, words like hylauronic acid, niacinamide, and plant extract names will begin to make a lot of sense and you’ll get a better overview of the product’s purpose and how effective it’ll be at what it’s claiming to do. 

The Steps:

  1. Oil Cleanser
  2. Water Cleanser
  3. Exfoliator 
  4. Toner
  5. Essence
  6. Serum
  7. Mask
  8. Eye cream
  9. Moisturizer
  10. SPF

These steps become even more essential in winter as we deal with parched skin, harsh weather conditions and heated spaces. Dehydration causes many skin problems, so the basic premise of this system is using layers of moisture to properly hydrate the skin while inhibiting the excessive production of oils and sebum which can cause acne. 

Properly hydrated skin also is less prone to wrinkles and the last step, SPF is essential to this. I know many girls can attest to skimping on this step, but it’s super important along with making sure you’re drinking enough fluids. The more hydrated you are from the inside out, the happier your skin will be.

It may seem like a lot, but you can do 10-steps now or pay for $100+ creams later on in an effort to try and correct on a surface level the issues that arise from inadequate skincare. Skincare is a long term investment into yourself that will make you feel more confident, and with the right combo of products it’ll save you money on buying makeup to cover things up. 

Follow along as I break down each step and highlight some of the products that I use.

First up, what is double cleansing anyway?

Enjoying these posts? Follow me on Instagram & Twitter for daily updates and product reviews! 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I often wonder if I’m using too many products! Also whether what I am using is the right thing! That said my skin is so much better than it used to be so I can only assume it’s all ok! 🙂 Great blog x

    Like

    1. It can definitely feel a bit overwhelming at times and not to mention time consuming, but I agree the results are worth it. I’ve seen a huge change a year into using many of these products and taking on this routine. Thank you for checking out my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 It’s really interesting 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Geo The Leo says:

    I’m really bad with the order of products. Do you know the reason why you use serum before mask? I thought a mask would take off the product?

    Like

    1. Easiest way to remember order of products is to go from thinnest to thickest, for example from toner to moisturizer then eye cream.
      Most sheet masks fall into the moisturizing category as they help seal in the serum, you don’t wash them off, they’re different than what are called “wash-off” masks which are like clay or sugar, you’d use those ones during the exfoliating stage right after you’re done cleansing. My next posts are all about sheet masks! It’s coming Wednesday 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Geo The Leo says:

        That has properly cleared it up for me! Didn’t realise you meant sheet masks for the serum bit. I use both depending on what my skin needs 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Cool! And same, I’ll switch it up depending on my skin’s need that day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

