Review: Iman Stick Foundation

It’s been a good ten years since I’ve bought a drugstore foundation due to the fact that in the past they haven’t offered a large enough range of colors for women of color, and their formulations irritated my skin and caused breakouts. Once I discovered high-end brands like Makeup Forever, and a wider range of color options to match skin tones I never looked back, that is until I came across the Iman Cosmetics Second to None Stick Foundation.

Along with cushion compacts, stick foundations are all the rage right now with high-end brands like Hourglass, Lancôme, Makeup Forever, Anatasia Beverly Hills and many others releasing their own versions with price points ranging from $25 to $45+. On the drugstore end brands like e.l.f, Revlon, Maybelline, NYX among others have also released their own versions.

Second To None in shade Clay and kabuki brush from Japonesque

At $16, the Iman Cosmetics’ stick foundation is described as,

“Easily Creates a Flawless Complexion. Second To None Stick Foundation is an oil-free makeup. Formulated with moisturizing jojoba esters, nourishing antioxidant vitamins. Full coverage, long-wearing matte color for a natural looking complexion. A good choice for oily/combination skin. Can be applied with sponge or fingertips. Paraben free. 0.28 oz.”

I had no idea what to expect, I was convinced to purchase this product because I saw that it was formulated without parabens and the inclusion of antioxidants was interesting. I had just come off trying and really disliking a cream foundation from Honest Beauty, which I has also purchased in part because it contained jojoba oil and vitamin E.

Anyway I did my normal morning skincare routine and gave the stick foundation a go (I’m in shade Clay) and was blown away by the results! First off it applied beautifully and felt completely weightless. It also looked flawless and natural on the skin, meaning my skin still looked like skin, there was no cakeyness, and I built it quite a bit with two or three application layers just to test it. I used my favorite kabuki brush from Japonesque to apply it and it blended into the skin so easily.

I’ve been wearing it daily for about a week now, for about 8+ hours and it stays all day long and I don’t feel like I’m wearing anything, it doesn’t weigh down the skin, it feels pretty invisible. I use Smashbox’s Photo Finish Primer on my t-zone because those areas tend to get oily throughout the day. I set my t-zone with Lancôme’s Dual Finish Powder Foundation.
Overall I’m very happy with the color match, results, ease of application, type of coverage, natural look and feel.

I definitely recommend checking out this brand, their products are designed for Black, Asian, Latina, and multi-cultural women with skin tones in a myriad of shades.

What about you, have you tried any stick foundations? What has been your experience?

Enjoying these posts? Follow me on Instagram & Twitter for daily updates and product reviews! 

Leave a Reply

