Winter Moisturizers 

Belif and Dr.Jart+ are two of my favorite Korean brands, I really appreciate the functionality of their products. These moisturizers have been a staple in my day-time skincare routine for a few months now, and are a great option for those looking to tackle dry winter skin.

Belif

Belif’s main line includes two amazing moisturizers, The True Cream Aqua Bomb (a Sephora exclusive), an ultra lightweight gel-cream that provides intense hydration and is for those who want to tackle dryness, enlarged pores, dullness and uneven texture. It includes antioxidants, Lady’s Mantle and Malachite, as well as a humectant called Oat Husk that attracts moisture. It also includes a bit of super ingredients Squalane and Shea Butter, along with a slew of extracts. Similar to Dr.Jart+’s Water Drop, this gel-cream formula “bursts” onto the skin releasing a flood of moisture.

 



The True Cream Moisturizing Bomb, provides moisture for up to 26 hours and it’s for those looking tackle dryness, loss of firmness and elasticity. The star ingredient is Comfrey Leaf, which detoxifies skin, leaving it smooth, soft and clear. I chose this cream over the Aqua Bomb because it contains fermented extracts, and other extracts like willow bark, calendula, oat and Rosa Damascena which my skin really loves.

I’m on my second jar of the Moisture Bomb, I love the light texture, how easily it glides on and how well it works under makeup, not to mention the lovely glow that it imparts on skin. At 1.68 oz, a jar lasts me about 2-3 months with regular use; I haven’t settled on a particular night cream so I’ve been using this in the evenings as well.

You can find Belif at Sephora, online and instore. If you want to get a 360 experience of the brand and an easy intro to the Korean skincare routine I highly recommend picking up their travel kit which includes their foaming cleanser, witch hazel toner, Hungarian water essence, aqua bomb moisturizer and eye cream. It’s a great deal and the samples last for about 2-3 weeks with regular use. You require only a dime-sized amount of the foaming cleanser and eye cream so those will last you for a while!

Dr.Jart+

Dr.Jart+ was a brand that I fell in love with last year after I randomly picked up their A BB C’s kit at Sephora. This kit includes the Water Drop Hydrating Moisturizer, Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45 and Dermaclear Micro Water (life changing!). Unfortunately the BB cream is only suitable for fair skin tones but the other two products are universal.

The Water Drop moisturizer gives the most unique and interesting feel when you rub it into your skin, the name water drop is kind of literal as it honestly feels like you’re rubbing drops of water into your skin! The feel is super light but kind of wet when you rub it in, and in my experience it functions like a primer as it works really nicely with makeup, smooths out skin and pores. Some might also see an illuminating effect from it. While I was on vacation in Mexico, this was my go-to daytime moisturizer, it made my no-makeup face look quite even and kept it matte.

Some interesting ingredients in it that add that brightening effect include: Rice Ferment Filtrate (Sake), Pearl Powder, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract and Royal Jelly Extract.

If you have super dry skin, this moisturizer might not satisfy you but if you have normal to combo skin, it’ll should work great for you. A little bit of this goes a long way, so you can get really good use of the sample size that comes in the A BB C’s kit.

Despite the BB cream not working for medium and darker skin tones I highly recommend picking up the kit so you can try the Dermaclear Micro Water, a truly phenomenal makeup remover and cleanser that’s also hydrating. After using it in this kit I purchased a full-sized bottle that has replaced makeup wipes in my routine.

Do you have any favorite Korean brand moisturizers? 

Enjoying these posts? Follow me on Instagram & Twitter for daily updates and product reviews! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jade Barnes says:

    I loved the Dr. Jart Water Drop moisturizer! I got it as a sample in Birchbox. I wish I could find another skincare item that has SPF in it so I could continue to buy the Water Drop. No such luck :/

    Like

    1. Their Cicapair moisturizer has spf 50. I wear a mineral sunscreen over my moisturizer. I have a sunscreen post coming up with some options!

      Like

Leave a Reply

